By providing the best resource management capability at our disposal


Maximized quality service to local communities

Core Values


Profile of Letsemeng Local Municipality

The Letsemeng Local Municipality is situated in the south-western Free State and forms parts of the Xhariep district. It has a surface area of 10 192 square kilometres, which is 29, 8% of the total Xhariep surface area.

According to Census 2011, Letsemeng Local Municipality has a total population of 38 628, of whom 67,8% are black African, 23,4% are coloured and 8,1% are white, with the other population groups making up the remaining 0,7%.

The five towns situated in Letsemeng are Koffiefontein (Municipal Head Office), Jacobsdal, Luckhoff, Oppermansgronde and Petrusburg. Read More…